Cleaning tea stains on fabric

I don’t like commercial cleaners or non-natural cleaners.  Years ago, I discovered the cleaning power of water softeners, white vinegar, lemon juice, and baking soda (not necessarily in combination!) and I haven’t turned back since.

I never had to deal with stains until I started drinking tea.  I learned that tea stains could not be cleaned using my natural tried and true methods.  I almost ruined one of my table toppers because I couldn’t get the tea stains out, even after meticulously scrubbing with a toothbrush!

I had almost given up on natural cleaners when I found this natural stain remover online and decided it was worth a try.  I had all the ingredients on hand so it was a no-brainer.  I tried it out on my table topper and lace tablecloth and it worked wonders on the food and tea stains!  I could hardly believe my eyes (and my luck!).  I love this stain remover and have also used it on cloth napkins and curtains.

DSC05767 (Small)Natural stain remover
[adapted from My Merry Messy Life (thank you, thank you, thank you!)]

1 1/2 cups water
1/4 cup Dr. Bronner’s castile liquid soap
1/4 cup liquid vegetable glycerine
2 tablespoons baking soda
10-15 drops essential oil (such as lemon, lavender, eucalyptus, or tea tree for fragrance and anti-bacterial properties)

Put all ingredients in an empty spray bottle.  Shake to mix.  If you don’t have a spray bottle, you can put everything in a jar and spoon out solution as needed.

To use, saturate stain with the stain remover.  Rub affected area with your fingers or a soft toothbrush until stain is gone.  If the stain is stubborn, let the stain remover sit for 10-30 mins.  Rinse, and hand wash or put through the washing machine.

“Stains are even worse when you’re the only one who can see them.”

― Gayle Forman, Just One Day

Leave a Reply

