Culinary magick

NOTE: Autumn cannot come soon enough for me!  So I am posting this Witches’ Tea from 2013.  Apologies for the old posts as I am still catching up and repopulating this blog.


It’s been quiet on my blog. I’ve been sick since the beginning of October and can’t seem to shake it.  I’ve had chronic nausea and though it’s getting better, I’m still not myself.  Since food plays a center role in almost all my daily activities, this illness has been especially challenging for me.  I got to a point where I could not stand the sight, smell, taste, or thought of food or eating.  I couldn’t watch any food related shows or read any of my magazines, which are all food-related!  I started to feel robbed of even the simplest joys in life such as being hungry, sipping a cup of hot tea, enjoying the smell of baked bread, or taking in the aroma of garlic sauteing in olive oil.  Imagine what my days were like … not being able to cook, bake, eat, or even talk or write about food!  What’s left to do in a day?  I’ve lost 20 lbs. and have not been able to eat enough to exercise.  It’s been a difficult journey as I struggle to find joy in Life again.  My perspective on food and eating has been challenged as I have been forced from living to eat to eating to live.  What once held pleasure for me has now become a source of anxiety.

A counselor recently asked me, “When are you most at peace?”  I thought, what a great question!  It certainly deserved an enlightening, insightful answer but at the time, I drew a complete blank.  I promised to mull it over.  I later told D. about the question (over dinner) and he answered immediately, “Oh, that’s easy!  YOU are most at peace when … you’re eating!”  🙂  Whaaat?  A lightbulb went off in my head!  He was right of course.  I can’t believe how simple the answer was all along.  In fact, it was so simple that I cannot believe how I missed it, especially since my entire being has been topsy-turvy ever since I got hit with this nausea.  Sometimes the simplest things in life ARE the most important ones. 😉

I thought it was high time for some good collective magick to heal myself and try to enjoy Life food again.  I missed my favorite holiday and decided to make up for it by hosting a Witches’ Tea in November!  I invited my friends Witch Agate, Broomhilda, and Witch Hazel who brought their culinary magick and potent friendship energy to help me with my healing spell:

Mother Earth, Fire, Wind,
Water, and Spirit,
I ask thee to cleanse my body
of all negative energies.

Blessed be.

You are hereby summoned to …

Witches' Table

Witches’ Table

Guardian of the Witches' Table

Guardian of the Witches’ Table

Witches' favors

Witch Henni’s magick gift to her witches

Witches' favors--gifts from nature

Witch Agate’s magick–scented gifts from nature

More Witches' favors -- portable meditation candle

Broomhilda’s magick — gift of portable meditation candles

"If you've got it, haunt it!"

“If you’ve got it, haunt it!”

Witches' Tea menu

Witches’ Tea menu (click to enlarge)

Toadstools and vittles soup capped in a puff pastry

Witch Henni’s Toadstools and vittles soup capped in a puff pastry

Toadstools and vittles soup

6 cups water*
1 tsp. veggie bullion*
1 1/2 cups diced potatoes (any variety)
2 cups mixed mushrooms, diced (I used shitake, crimini, trumpet, oysters)
1/2 cup onion, diced
1 carrot, diced
1/2 c. frozen peas
1 1/4 cups chopped leeks or scallions
6 oz. grilled or baked tofu, small dice (optional)
4 garlic cloves, minced
3/4 cup nutritional yeast
1/2 tsp black pepper
2 Tbsp cider vinegar
1 Tbsp Italian Herb blend
1 bay leaf

1 sheet of puff pastry (optional)

*or use 6 c. veggie broth

Saute mushrooms, onions, and leeks until soft.  Add garlic and cook until fragrant.  Add all other ingredients and cook until potatoes and carrots are tender.  Enjoy!  If capping with puff pastry, cool soup to room temperature or chill before capping with puff pastry.  Fill ovenproof bowls or ramekins 3/4 with soup.  Cut out circles of puff pastry to fit your bowls/ramekins.  Seal dough by pressing edges with a fork.  Brush the tops of the pastry with a beaten egg (optional).  Bake at 400 degrees for 20 minutes until tops are golden brown.  Serve immediately or keep in warming oven until time to serve.

Witch Agate's Purple People Eater (Eggplant Parmesan Sandwitch)

Witch Agate’s Purple People Eater (Eggplant Parmesan Sandwitch)–Lions and tigers and bears!  Oh my!  Witch Agate makes the best Eggplant Parmesan of anyone or restaurant I know–hands down!

Tea caddy

Tea caddy

Witch Hazel's Mystical Chicken salad (hibachi grilled chicken salad with celery and apples on a mini croissant)

Witch Hazel’s Mystical Chicken salad (hibachi grilled chicken salad with celery and apples on a mini croissant)

Squeamish scones with matcha green tea Devonshire cream, lemon-ginger curd, and lingonberry preserves

Squeamish scones with matcha green tea Devonshire cream, lemon-ginger curd, and lingonberry preserves

I’ve never been a big fan of any type of cream (though I’ve been known to crave a creamy pasta occasionally!) but I know it’s a big deal to have it with scones for afternoon tea.  So I’m always looking for ways to make it different and make it healthier.  My next experiment is to try making it with coconut  milk.

Henni’s matcha green tea (mock) Devonshire cream
(serves 4)

1/4 c. whipping cream
1/2 tsp. matcha powder
2 Tbsp. nonfat Greek yogurt
1 drop almond extract
1 Tbsp. confectioner’s sugar (add more to taste if you prefer it sweeter)

Whip the cream, extract, sugar, and matcha powder until stiff peaks form.  Fold in yogurt until blended.  Serve immediately or refrigerate up to one week.

Henni’s vegan lemon-ginger curd
(serves 4)

1/2 c. water or non-dairy milk*
2 Tbsp. lemon juice
2 Tbsp. sugar
1 tsp. lemon zest
1 tsp. ginger powder
1 Tbsp. cornstarch
1 drop yellow food coloring (optional)

*non-vegan version: may use 1/2 c. water + 1 Tbsp. buttermilk powder

Whisk ingredients until smooth.  Microwave for 1 minute until bubbly and thick.  Reheat in 10 second increments if not bubbly and thick.  Chill the curd.  Before serving, use a whisk or hand blender to whip and make creamy.

Haunted Forest Fruits (raspberries, kiwi, pomegranate seeds, and spearmint)

Haunted Forest Fruits (raspberries, kiwi, pomegranate seeds, and spearmint)

Beetle burgers (assorted French macarons)

Beetle burgers (assorted French macarons)

Witch Broomhilda's Curse of Lady Grey (Earl Grey and lavender cheesecake)

Witch Broomhilda’s dessert, Curse of Lady Grey (Earl Grey and lavender cheesecake)–love the cute skull cupcake holders!

cr

Happy witches–An enchanting time was enjoyed by all!

Gift of sunshine

Witch Hazel’s magick–gift of sunshine

Samhain Greetings and Happy new year!

sipback

Leave a Reply

